Colouring Book: Secret Garden, by Johanna Basford

WP_20150712_006

My new addiction is a colouring book named “Secret Garden” (in Pt, “O Jardim Secreto”), by Johanna Basford.

Everybody is colouring these days, so I decided to give it a try. And I’m hooked, it’s really realaxing, it helps you to get in touch with your emotions, it’s revolutionary 😀

livro_3

 

My little sister says it’s a total waste of time, but I truly don’t think so, it’s mental hygiene. I’m not only spending time colouring it, i’m also spending money buying colouring supplies.

I’ve collected every single crayon we had at house and sharpened it. I’ve also bought special metalized pens, brushes and watercolors.

livro_1

Everything is so cheap and so worth the investment. I like to colour listening to my favorite songs, sipping some vanilla/peach/passionfruit tea (heaven!). You can really become very emotional and I sometimes even cry, or laugh, it’s like a meditation, because you’re focused on the colors and in the painting, but at the same time, you’re very relaxed.

livro_2

 

I thought I was the only crazy adult person dedicating time to colour books, but it’s a true fever! The book is selling tons in Brazil (and throughtout the world), and I found many Instagram profiles with people sharing hints, sharing their own creations, and there are even workshops teaching new colouring techniques : )

WP_20150712_010

 

I think that, in the inside, we never stop being children, so, let’s make our inner children happy 😀

This one was the first drawing I finished (it’s hard work):

WP_20150712_008

This one is me trying the watercolors — it’s difficult to control the intensity of the colors:

WP_20150712_011

 

And here are some supplies:

WP_20150712_012

For anyone too stressed and suffering with anxiety, this is a cheap and highly rewarding therapy.

In the end, it’s ART!

You should try it too…

Namaste __/\__

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

