Empanadas

empanadas_finalI’ve been working translating recipes for a terrific blog, specialized in delicious food. It’s author is ecuatorian, and she shares many recipes from her homeland. After a long period only admiring the recipes and gorgeous pictures, I decided to try one recipe myself. I did Empanadas.

Not very pretty, but very delicious.

As I don’t eat meat, I filled them with Zucchini and Gorgonzola in tomato sauce, which I love.

The dough is very easy to make, and I used whole flour and white flour to create it. That’s why it’s so brown:

massa_empanada

For the filling, I used zucchini, one of my favorite vegetables, and Gorgonzola, one of my favorite cheeses (and also mozzarela).

collage_zucchini

As I also like chili, I wanted to give it a latin flavour and add some pepper too. Brazilians don’t use much pepper in their tradiitonal dishes. It’s more used in some specific places, like in Bahia, for example, but in my State, Pernambuco, there is not much pepper in food. And I really like spicy food.

collage_zucchini_and_gorgonzola

The empanadas were delicious and they didn’t last even 24h hours. Next time, I’ll try to double the recipe, so that it can last (at least) two days.

Namaste __/\__

Leave a Reply

