Hot Ginger Compress — Ayurvedic Ritual

ginger_compress

I love to use hot compress to aleviate pain. They are simple to make, the aplication has a ritual atmosphere, and the warm water with essences is highly cleansing, healing and relaxing.

So, when I read in The Way of the Happy Woman book about this Ayurvedic ritual for strengthtening the womb energy, I decided to try it out.

Ginger is great to generate heat and stimulate the body circulation.

It’s easy to make. You’ll need:

– A large pot with lid

– Tap water

– A bunch of ginger

– A grater

– Hand towels or other soft tissue

–  Body oil (the book recommends sesame oil, but I used almond oil, because it was the only one I had)

– Cheesecloth and a twine/string (to tie it)

How to make it:

1. Fill the pot with water and bring it to a boil in low heat.

2. Peel and grate the ginger root, and then put it inside the cheesecloth. Tie it, creating a sachet, like a tea bag.

3. Squeeze the sachet/tea bag, juicing the ginger over the boiling water, and then drop the ginger bag inside the pot too. Cover with the lid.

4. Let it simmer for about 30 minutes.

5. Turn the heat off, and let the pot cool for about 5 minutes. Then, lay down over some soft blanquets, and rub the body oil over your lower back. Put a hand towel inside the pot (be careful to not burn yourself), put the lid back over the pot to keep the water warm, and when you can handle the towel, squeeze it and place it over your lower back.

If you have someone to help you with it, even better. I had to handle everything by myself, and it was just fine.

I’ve also used the hot towel around my neck, over my belly, around my two feet and, in the end, I’ve wrapped the towel around my shoulders and laid down for a while. I felt so warm and protected, like if I was in the womb again (it must feel that nice).

Amazing. You could try it too!

compress

Namaste __/\__

Pictures: Pinterest

Leave a Reply

