Saucha (Purity or Cleanliness)

saucha

The first Niyama is saucha, that can be translated as cleanliness. I understand it as being free of hurts, of negative thoughts, of everything that “cloggs” your energetic system.

In Healing, we learn that fear, hatred, and many other emotional pain can “clogg” your energetic system, because the energy “stops”.

It doesn’t flow when we are upset, hurted or afraid and if this energy is not “cleaned”, it can cause many problems in your energy system and thus in your life (another point of view about this later on this article).

To be “clean” inside is not always easy. We have many challenges in our daily life regarding relationships, unfulfilled expectations and so on. Many times, we beat ourselves up for so many things, for not being the way we think we should be.

We don’t recognize what we already are (we don’t practice Santosa, another Niyama), and keep hoarding frustration and pain in our spiritual bodies. The attachment to pain is more common than we think. About it, there’s a very nice quote:

“Yoga is the severance of our union with pain”. (Bhagavad Gita)

By meditating you can clean a lot of your energy system, but sometimes, the help of a professional Healer is necessary.

Saucha is cleaning, that can be done slowly, and purify ourselves and our lives, enhancing our practice.

“The most common translation of saucha is ‘cleanliness.’ But saucha, at its root, is concerned with keeping different energies distinct. Saucha ensures and protects the sanctity of the energy around us.” – Aadil Palkhivala

 

Another point of view about Saucha

I was meditating last weekend in the garden of my sister’s house. I enjoy practicing there because I can feel the nature around me and because I have this view instead of my room’s ceiling:

sky

And by looking around, I noticed that by my side there was a rotten flower and bees joyfully eating the sticky goo the flower has become:
Foto0758

I never tought that bees ate rotten flowers. I had this romantic idea about them going from flower to flower (the fresh ones), drinking the pure nectar of it. And then, regurgitating it to create the honey (another desillusion of mine, I’ve recently discovered that honey is bee’s vomit).

That made me think that we human beings like to “sanitize” things, and that nature don’t work that way. We like to think that the wild nature is “pure” and clean, as we understand it, and it’s not the reality. What really goes on on nature would be classified as “disgusting” by the majority of people, and that includes me.

I wonder if we also do it with emotions. In our search for “positive”, beautiful emotions, like happinness, love, gratitude, generosity, we try to “clean” life from equally important ugly emotions – sorrow, pain, anger, fear, and so on.

Of course human beings can not be considered “wild”, but we are certainly nature. Aren’t we trying to be irrealistically “clean”, “pure”, inside and out?

That was good food for meditation.

I love meditating in the garden. It’s a tiny garden, but for me it works as a small jungle. My mother also likes to grow tomatos, corn, fruits, pepper and herbs in the backyard, so, I enjoy the opportunity to be in contact with the earth (rare):

Foto0730

I can’t stand putting my bare feet on the soil, I get uncomfortable (how great is that?). Born and raised in a city, this is a very new feeling to me.

Here are some other pictures of the garden:

Tiny garden, tiny jungle

couve

couve2

flor

flor2

Foto0731

Foto0732

Foto0733

Foto0734

Foto0735

Foto0736

Foto0738

Foto0743

Foto0744

Foto0745

 

 

Namaste!

Leave a Reply

