My daily practice

In this post, I’ll talk about my daily asana practice.

I usually practice at sunset, when my body is more flexible. During the mornings I almost never don’t go beyond my sun salutations.

My practice has been changing with time, and today what have been guiding me is the asana course there is in the end of the book Light on Yoga, by Iyengar.

light_on_yoga

I’ve been following his course for a while and now I’m in the 30th week.

We begin in sirsasana (I practice it at the wall), and then we do the sarvangasana cycle, seated postures with forward bends and twists, padmasana cycle and a vinyasa, ending it with udhva dhanurasana (wheel pose).

iyengar

Here you can see Iyengar in Setu Bandha Sarvangasana, one of the postures of the sarvangasana cycle.

If you don’t have this book, I highly recommend achieving it. I have the concise edition and it has been amazing for my practice.

Iyengar is a master, and a very sweet and dedicated teacher. I’m very happy to have this book to guide me through my home practice.

iyengar

He is 94 years old and still practicing, still teaching. An inspiration to all of us.

Now, I would like to know: How is your practice?

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

