Pets

Imagem

Picture: ughhhfuckkk

This is an appreciation post to honor our little friends, that are always there when we need them (or when we’re watching TV).

I have a cat that loves to meditate with me. His name is Flocos (the portuguese word for “chocolate chips” and he always finds his way to my lap when I’m in padmasana or in any meditation pose. He also loves to be behind my back when I’m in halasana, what makes it always a struggle to come out of the pose.

Imagem

We think that we “own” our pets, but actually, they also own us. As in any relationship, we love them and they love us and we depend on them emotionally.

I remember a girl who lost her cat after 17 years of friendship. 17 years! The way it hurts, I can’t even imagine.

We know pets live less then human beings, but it doesn’t hinder us to be fully attached to them. I was wondering that we should protect our hearts, understanding that our buddies will eventually leave us, earlier than we wanted to.

Of course, we are all going to die at some point in our lives, and we can’t predict when, but – I’m not knowing how to express myself here – the loss of a pet can be so so heartbreaking.

Can’t we do something to prevent so much pain?

Anyway, our love for our pets and their love for us is inspiring. I remember that my little cat was born during my depression times and he helped me so much, only by his presence and personality. He was the most shy of his five or six brothers and sisters. As an introverted person myself, I’m always attracted to shy personalities. He was also the only one who had not the beautiful race features of his mother, like white hair and blue eyes, so, no one wanted to adopt him.

He grew up to be a wonderful, beautiful cat, and I’m so grateful for having him in my life.

However, it’s a tricky thing to “own” a pet.

What about you? Do you love your pets (of course you do!). Share your love in the comments.

Namaste.

4 thoughts on “Pets

  1. Oh, bang on! My newly adopted jack russell is in a constant mission to sit on me. We meditate together. His shorter lifespan challenges me to imagine how can I make the world better whilst he’s here. He is like a love sand clock to awesomeness.

    • Hola, chica! 😉 I was in your website and liked this: “Malamadre is all about mind-blowing Art by young Spanish women, with none of the stereotyping about youth, Spain or femininity”. “No stereotyping” sounds so good. I’ve watched the Ted talk you’ve suggested in your last newsletter and loved it. It was so much fun. I didn’t know the work of that illustrator, I wish someday I’ll have one of her books in my hands. I’d love to. Sorry for the delay in answering, I’ve been in a rollercoaster – but the good one!

  2. ooooh I love this post – and that photo! I clicked the link to those hilarious and delicious photos. Sexy Boyfriend and I each brought a dog to the relationship and they’re so happy to have a sibling. Are you on Instagram? We can share animal photos there 🙂

    • Sophia! You keep appearing and disappearing, it’s tricky! 🙂 Sorry, I don’t have Instagram (feeling like the only person on Earth without it). How are you doing? I’m working so much, but at the same time feeling great. I’m happy I took the decision to invest in my dreams.

Leave a Reply

